Available Horses · Jewel

Bucket List Adventures

Well, I haven’t been very active in writing about the horses because frankly, there hasn’t been much to write about.  As you probably know, for most areas of the country, including the midwest, this summer has been abnormally HOT.  We set a new record in Indianapolis for consecutive days over 95 degrees.  Now, if it were just heat without humidity, I might actually get up early and ride – maybe.  However, factor in a very high humidity level with a heat index near 110 degrees and frankly, I’m not leaving the AC if I don’t have too.  Therefore, the horses have pretty much had the last 3 weeks off.  We’re finally getting back to normal summer time temps (low-to-mid 80s) which is much more bearable.

Regardless, here are updates on the mares:

Jewel

Out to Pasture
Jewel (left) enjoys pasture time.

I’ve ridden Jewel a couple of times.  She’s been surprisingly well behaved for not having really done anything except eat in the last 3-4 weeks.  The good news is that she is really looking quite good.  There is nothing like grass pasture to fatten up a Thoroughbred.  I’m very pleased with her weight as we approach fall.  She is an extremely hard keeper, so having some good weight on her this time of year is important because she always looses weight in the winter.

I have also had a couple jump lessons since my last post about that.  They have gone really well.  Jewel is very clever and also very honest.  She has saved my butt a couple of times when I didn’t ride the approach to a jump very well.   We have another lesson scheduled for this coming Tuesday.  I’m even thinking about signing up for some jumping classes at shows this fall.  FUN!

So…on to my bucket list adventure…my barn owner and her daughter are taking two horses to a show near Gettysburg, PA over Labor Day Weekend.  After their show, they are going on a guided trail ride (on their own horses) around the battlefields of Gettysburg.  Call me corny, but this is something that I have ALWAYS wanted to do.  I have been to Gettysburg and it is an amazingly beautiful place, steeped in history.  As it turns out, there is possibly room in the truck and trailer for me and Jewel to come along.  This may be one of the only opportunities I have to ride the battlefields of Gettysburg on my own horse.  I’m really excited.  Nothing is set in stone yet, but I’m working on it.  Updates most definitely to follow!

Rose
Since I last wrote, Rose has seen the vet and had front shoes put back on.  She is still quite sore on her racing diagonal (LF and RH).  We think there is a muscle issue in the shoulder because the xrays are clean, but she stands with the left front foot out in front of her (bearing the weight on her right front).  I plan to have the vet back out at the end of the month for a follow up, a chiro adjustment and to get her teeth done.  She has lost some weight, but mostly in the form of racing muscle.  She is actually gaining some weight back right now.  Its all part of the let down process.  I have to keep reminding myself that she was still racing 2 months ago.  For now, she’s turned out in a 1 acre paddock with a couple other horses.  We’ll see what the vet says.

That is pretty much where the horses are at right now.  What have YOU been doing with your horses?  Have you been avoiding the heat like me?  Have you had a horse-related “bucket list” adventure?  Do tell!!

One thought on “Bucket List Adventures

  1. I just found you via Natalie at Un-Retired Racehorse–love having another TB blog to read.

    I have my own OTTB and we are actually about to embark on one of our bucket list adventures next week.

    We are taking a family horse vacation with ‘Bar and our first horse, Lena, to the cutting horse ranch she came from for trail riding and whatever other adventures I can introduce. (Mechanical cow, perhaps?)

    I don’t compete with him, but have recently decided actually learning to ride properly would also be a good goal.

    He says it’s about time.

Leave a Reply

